The DMV mails renewal notices on a postcard rather than a full sheet of paper in an envelope. This reduces our mailing costs.
Use our Online Fee Estimate. (Vehicle Identification Number and/or Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price are required.)
We accept cash, personal checks, debit cards, Visa, MasterCard, Discover and money orders made out to the Department of Motor Vehicles in the exact amount of your fees. Please do not mail cash. Third party checks are not accepted.
We encourage you to use e-check or debit rather than a credit card. This saves taxpayer dollars through reduced fees.
Nevada charges a Registration Fee, a Governmental Services Tax and, in some counties, a Supplemental Governmental Services Tax.
Registration fees are charged based on the class of the vehicle and its weight.
(NRS 482.480 and 482.482)
Taxes are based on the original Manufacturers Suggested Retail Price (MSRP) set when the vehicle was new.
(NRS Chapter 371)
|Vehicle 2 years old with an original MSRP of $20,000|
|x .35||DMV Valuation - will not change over time (NRS 371.060)|
|x .85||DMV Valuation is depreciated 15% - vehicle is two years old (NRS 371.050)|
|x .04||Governmental Services tax is 4% of the depreciated valuation (NRS 371.040)|
|$238||Governmental Services Tax is $238|
The Supplemental Governmental Services Tax, if charged in the above example, would be $60 (after rounding) for total taxes of $298.
Commercial vehicles with a declared gross weight of 10,000 pounds or more and trailers with an unladen weight of 4,000 pounds or more use a different schedule.
* These are new values implemented under Senate Bill 429 in the 2009 Legislature. See page 4 of the bill for a comparison.
You must claim your tax exemption at the time you register or renew your vehicle. Exemptions are not credited or refunded after the fact.
County Assessors can approve Governmental Services tax relief for:
Active duty military members who are residents of another state but stationed in Nevada qualify for a full exemption on Governmental Services Tax. This exemption may be transferred to a spouse. See Military Licensing.
Native American tribal members who reside on tribal lands also qualify for Governmental Services Tax exemptions. You must have the Application for Governmental Services Tax Exemption (VP 154) signed by the Tribal Chairperson.
Nevada does not have a grace period on expired registrations. Your registration expires on the date listed, not at the end of the month. You can check its status with our Online Registration and Insurance Status Inquiry. See also Renewal Options.
The DMV is required by law to charge late fees that consist of taxes and penalties. You must pay the full renewal fees for the coming year and the pro-rated Registration Fee and Governmental Services Taxes for the period of time the vehicle was not registered.
Additional penalties include $6 per month on the Registration Fee. The Governmental Services Tax penalty is $6.00 or 10%, whichever is greater (including Supplemental Governmental Services Taxes in applicable counties). Contact us for an exact quote if needed.
The Nevada Sales and Use tax is actually several separate taxes which fund state and local government, schools and special purposes. See the Nevada Department of Taxation Sales and Use Tax Publications for current tax rates. Taxes on vehicle sales vary by the type of sale and the tax rate of the county in which the vehicle is based.
Nevada Dealer Sales - Taxes are paid to the dealer based on the actual purchase price.
Out-of-State Dealer Sales - The DMV will verify whatever taxes were paid and charge any difference between that amount and what would have been due on a Nevada dealer sale.
Private Party Sales, Family Sales and Gifts - Sales on or after January 1, 2006, are not subject to sales taxes. On private sales that occurred in 2005 or earlier, sales taxes were paid to the DMV based either on the depreciated Manufacturers Suggested Retail Price (MSRP) or a vehicle appraisal. (NRS 374.112)